Some people think that increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and could be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The demand for international travel has increased in the last few years. Even though travelling by plane is easier and more affordable nowadays, it negatively impacts the environment. Aviation carbon emissions are significantly harmful to the atmosphere and this tendency should be curbed. I agree with this statement to a large extent. First, we must be aware that aviation is a fossil fuel industry. There is no other way to move millions of people daily through the sky that by burning tons of dirty fuels. For instance, if aviation was a country that might be ranked like Germany or South Korea in terms of daily carbon emissions. Another problem could be the fact that flying is more affordable for everyone. Moreover, people that already used to fly are doing it more frequently. Despite the tendency of the global industry to decrease its environmental impact, aviation is not running in this way. It is still a very unregulated sector and governments are not enough interested to solve this. Politicians should encourage airlines to be aware of this serious problem. Finding alternative sources of energy or using electric planes might be effective measures to be taken. Also, the foster of alternative transport means to be used for travelling like bus or train. However, a carbon tax is by far the most important to implement right now. In conclusion, the increasing use of planes for travelling has a negative environmental impact. Citizens and governments must be aware of this problem whereas new policies have to be taken to reduce carbon emissions from the aeronautics industry.