People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently people have been busy with their work because of longer work hours. It is argued that working long hours has a serve impact on themselves their families and the community. Therefore, they suggest that working hours should be limited. I completely agree with this point of view. On the one hand, working for a long time brings several detrimental impacts on the body and the mind. Firstly, working but no break makes employees stressed and tired. Because they always suffer from finishing tasks before the deadline. In a long term, this would lead to various mental health issues such as anxiety, and depression. Secondly, working exhaustingly makes workers not have time to eat and sleep regularly. Working over 8 hours a day makes employees not have time to prepare nutritious meals and they have to use pre-made food that isn’t good for their health. Thirdly, they also couldn’t take part in public health campaigns and this would simply lead to weight problems. On the other hand, working long hours also has serious consequences for families and the community. To begin with, workers couldn’t spend time taking care of their family, hence they no longer get on well with family members. For example, my elder sister often comes back home lately, so she doesn’t have time to talk together with her children. Therefore, her children gradually no longer share their stories and feelings with her. In addition, because people are too busy, they don’t devote more time to voluntary activities that are beneficial to society. For instance, my friend works at the weekends, hence he couldn’t engage in the public campaigns which distribute food to the homeless. In conclusion, overworking has negative impacts on workers, their families and society. As a result, I believe that working hours should be restricted.