The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A group of individuals believe that the money that the government invests in art and music is not beneficial for the masses. In their opinion, the government must use this money for the improvement of public services. I do not quite agree with this view. While I do agree with the argument that the government should prioritize public services, it should never completely neglect the arts. The major reason for investing in public services is that it elevates the living standards of people. For example, if the government invests money in public infrastructures like roads, railways and flyovers, people can move about without any hassle. This not only saves them time but also benefits the economy because a good transport network is essential for the speedy movement of goods and services. Likewise, investment in public health and education will enable people to lead healthy and productive lives. So,, obviously it is important to invest in essential services. On the other hand, the art sector is important too. While it is true that it does not directly impact people ’s lives, it does offer enjoyment and relaxation. Most people lead hectic lives these days. After a hard day at work, everyone needs to relax and that is where art comes into the picture. People enjoy listening to songs, watching a movie, a play or attending a concert or exhibition in their free time or after work. Such avenues help them recharge their batteries and prepare them better for the next day. Without art, our lives will be too dull and monotonous. Also, art is a reflection of culture and hence investing in arts is essential to preserve our culture and legacy. To conclude, public services are certainly more important than art or culture and hence need more funding. However, the art sector too has an important role in preserving our culture and keeping our society mentally healthy and happy. Hence, in my opinion, the government should fund artistic and theatrical pursuits as well.