In the future, there will be higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it positive or negative development?

Thanks to the state of the art technology in medicines, anti-ageing therapies, people are being expected to have a longer life expectancy, giving a rise to ageing population in certain nations as well. From my own perspective, I utterly believe this phenomenon is undesirable. The first and foremost worry is the adverse impact of the decreasing proportion of competent labour force. As many senior citizens have reached retirement age while fewer young workers are pumped into the labour market, construction, and manufacturing might cause a shortage of workers for physically demanding tasks. Furthermore, not only physical tasks but also mental elderly can perform less effective than youngsters. In detail, elder staff has a tendency to make their decisions and judgments upon their long-accumulated experience, which can be conservative and lack innovation as well. With inventions of cutting-edge technology, the economy can be boosted stably and greatly,, otherwise those nations can lag behind others. The more serious worry is the financial burden prompted by the growing cost of social welfare but less fortune is created. The higher rate of elder people, the greater cost of pension the government has to pay for them, which pays tax on the younger labour force. Consequently, younger workers have to work more hours to make more value which can lead to diminishing in their performance and quality of products. Besides that, the investment of the government in the healthcare system and social welfare will make the younger generation face the pressure of working harder to feed thousands of useless people. To conclude, not only do donations that have an ageing population experience many downsides, but also they can lag behind the younger population’s ones.