In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Different kinds of plastic, especially shopping bags, have been considered the central origin of garbage in several nations which could harm both water and soil. There is an argument about whether they should be prohibited which I completely agree with it. Extensive use of them would be environmentally deteriorative for two main reasons. Firstly, the plastics are irrecoverable and remain in the environment for a long time. They could have a negative impact on the roots of trees and other flora which results in deforestation and less quality air. Secondly, different species of animals can be died due to the presence of these plastics. They often eat them instead of their food because they are ubiquitous on land and water. If they do not these plastics, they may be suffocated to death. Therefore, biodiversity will be in danger. However, there are measures that can be taken to tackle this disaster. One of them is to encourage people to replace plastic shopping bags with tote bags or shopping baskets. This not only benefits the environment but also eliminates the expenditure on their provision for shop managers. Another measure refers to the government. Currently, many people dispose of every kind of rubbish together while if they divide them, especially plastics, it will be easier to collect them instead of releasing them to nature. Authorities should impose a rule for that and penalise outlaws in different ways such as fines or community work. In conclusion, I totally agree that the use of plastic shopping bags should be banned because they are likely to deteriorate the environment and other creatures.