Some people think that advertising on TV is useful for viewers while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.Some people think that advertising on TV is useful for viewers while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are some who believe that television viewers can get manifold advantages by watching more and more advertising messages, however others do not consider this trend as a productive one. I am convinced that unnecessary and limitless flow of commercials can pose some negative effects. People who support the advertising of products on screens, have their own reasoning. They point out that advertisements spread awareness among consumers about various commodities of day to day life, which would assist them in making informed choices.Apart from it, the creative and interesting advertisements of the present times offer moments of fun and entertainment to viewers, and thus enhance their television viewing experience. On the other hand, it is fairly easy to understand/- there are compelling arguments to establish the inherent ill-effects/-there are strong grounds to establish the inherent ill-effects/threats /posed by an overdose of marketing messages. The primary argument is that they push people into unnecessary consumption. Buyers get influenced by the exaggerated merits of the products shown in advertisements and tend to buy them even when the need hardly exists. For example, girls are lured to buy the countless cosmetics shown in advertisements which hold the promise of making them look gorgeous. This continuous purchasing habit can put them into financial constraints afterwards. Another important demerit of advertisement is that it raises the cost of products. This is because advertising on television costs a hefty amount and manufacturers often add those costs to the original price of the product. Furthermore frequent advertisement breaks in the middle of movies, soaps or news programmes are a huge distraction and take away a lot of the viewer’s time. Often a two hour movie runs into three to four hours due to the commercial breaks and people are forced to spend these hours in front of the idiot box. In conclusion, it can be said that although advertisements have some small advantages, their profound and long-term adverse impact on both society and individual cannot be overlooked.