In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

People shop for things for varied reasons. While in earlier years it was more of buying things for homely daily necessities, folks now have started going shopping as a fun activity. Although I agree it is mostly positive for the overall nation as it results in more development, there are instances of it proving to be harmful to certain individuals. Talking about positives, shopping for fun is beneficial for the nation as it brings more development. When individuals are buying items for their excitement, they tend to purchase more products compared to making a purchase to satisfy only their basic needs. This in turn leads to a greater collection of indirect taxes for the administration, which helps them fund their development projects and policies for the betterment of people. For example, shopping online is easier has led to individuals buying things as a time pass activity, which has greatly swelled government coffers that they can use for public welfare. Hence, this trend is advantageous for the overall economy and its people. On the contrary, this shopping behaviour can be negative for individuals with bad spending habits. Most of the time pass shopping is made with the intent of showing off even though they might not be able to afford it with their current income. Many people then fund their shopping spree using debt and loans, which can be very risky in case they are not judicious with their spending. For instance, the number of youngsters facing debt traps is constantly rising as newer generations mostly purchase everything on credit and face hefty fines when they are not able to repay their dues. Thus, the trend of shopping for timepass can be disastrous for many who are not careful with their money management. To sum up, while impulse buying is good for the country as it gives them more funds to work for people, it can do great harm to folks who are not thinking about how to fund their purchases. One should have the acumen of how to manage their income.