In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

In early times, going shopping was a daily chore in which people bought essential goods only, but now it has become a fun activity. I agree that it's a positive trend and will give reasons why. Firstly, it helps families to spend time together and increases family bonding as in most families both male and female members are working for 8-10 hours a day due to which they don’t spend much of their day together or with kids. So when they go shopping together, they can spend some moments with each other. For instance, when a family visits a supermarket to buy groceries, each member of the family involves themselves to get the right product from a wide available range by comparing with different brands available. Each member of the family gives their opinions and choices to get the right product. So, such involvement while shopping leads to increased family bonding. Secondly, going for fun shopping adds physical activity to one's life. For the less active people, who don't like to do physical activities like running or gyming, shopping can be an amusing way to go out and get some exercise. For example, when a person visits a mall for shopping they need to walk a lot to visit various stores so that one hour of shopping leads to one hour of walking which leads to adding a simple yet enjoyable physical activity. In conclusion, shopping is important in today's lifestyle as it helps to spend a good amount of time with family. It also helps to add little physical and fun activity and helps to get relaxation from hectic jobs and busy schedules.