With the help of the Internet and TV, more people are becoming famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is increasingly common for people today to have their fifteen minutes of fame. The internet has provided access to a global audience and technological advances have enabled the average person to broadcast themselves professionally. I would argue that this trend of ‘instant celebrity’ is rather detrimental to society as they promote poor values and are poorly regulated. It could be said that these celebrities are great role models to young people. I have found, however, the opposite to be the case. The majority have become famous through reality shows or social media, and many of them have not reached their fame by doing something positive, but rather have been found to be acting inappropriately or disgracing themselves. A more beneficial role or new celebrities would be those with real talents or who educate the young generation. I would also say that these “influencers” often set unrealistic targets for young people nowadays. They often portray glamorous lifestyles and claim to have the next big solution to get rich. In reality, many of them are simply exaggerating their status and spreading false claims. Impressionable youth often buy into their ideas and see social media stars as idols; this notion is dangerous because it could distract young people from more important goals such as achieving good grades at school. Finally, the stars on reality shows or social media are not regulated in the ideas they are sharing. Young students simply believe everything these famous people say, without any regard for facts and it seems we are creating a society of people who do not value the importance of truth or facts. To conclude, the ubiquity of famous reality stars and influencers today is a highly negative trend. These people generally endorsed superficiality and ignorant behavior and disregard considered thought in favor or financial gain. We need to teach young people that there is more to life than trying to achieve fame and that there are many more worthwhile careers in the world.