Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has always been profitable as even has been taught at schools. Although, there are people who believe that this only matters through travelling to or working in another nation, others think it is far more beneficial, including me. On one hand, the local tongue will definitely be needed if a person wants to visit a country of work there. In other words, the necessity of communication with colleagues at work simultaneously with other people who are been interacted in different activities such as shopping, asking an address, and so on, would lead a person to learn the local language. For example, getting a discount is probably available if a buyer communicates in the regional tongue or an employee would be hired with more salary through this way. Therefore, learning a foreign language would be favourable either for visiting or working in a different state. On the other hand, bilingualism is far more advantageous than just related to tourism or employment in other nations. This ability would give people more job opportunities in their own country and more salary as a result. For instance, they could work as a tourist guide and a translator at the same time which affects their self-confidence as well. Nevertheless, I believe, the most important profit of learning a foreign language would be the acquaintance to other cultures. To illustrate this, watching movies and reading books would introduce a new custom, if they are in the original version and not translated. As a result, multilingualism is not only helping the job opportunities but also affecting the personality and cosmopolitan outlook. To conclude, the reasons for learning a new language would not be limited to travel or employment in other countries, however, there is a population who disagree, excluding me. After all, a new dialect would help a person to broaden her mind and gain knowledge about other cultures.