Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your aswer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Besides general education, minors often develop their own habits related to some specific kinds of sports, arts and entertainment. It is argued that these leisure activities are useless unless they render kids educational benefits. I totally disagree that leisure activities only stand for educational purposes. Analysing how leisure activities help with creativity, as well as the importance of relaxing will prove my opinion. Firstly, entertaining activities possess the means to encourage children and adolescents to explore and create something. For instance, I used to be a faithful reader of detective novels when I was in junior school, having acquired lots of fun from these novels, I started to create my own story when I went to senior school, where my work was quite popular among my classmates, then I became a writer and an editor for my university magazine, I just continue writing since senior school and now writing has become my part-time job. Had it not been for indulging in detective novels, I would never develop the idea of creating my own fiction. Therefore, my personal experience makes it clear that habits that are irrelevant to study can be the best motivation for people to start creating. Secondly, relaxing is necessary for effective learning, as leisure activities of a proper amount could assist the students to perform better. For example, having suffered from procrastination, I once tried to cram one week before, although I pushed myself as hard as I could, I failed to memorize everything at once because my brain was too tired to function properly, as a result I did not get a good grade at that exam, from which I learned the lesson that our brains need to rest for better performance, that is another reason why entertainment is so important for education. In conclusion, habits for relaxing give children and juveniles the best motivation for creation and innovation, as well as pertain to better achievements in educational area. Therefore, leisure activities without educational purposes should exist and be welcomed. After a thorough analysis of this statement, encouraging students to develop their own habits for entertainment and distribute their time properly is both reasonable and intelligent.