In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

When creating adverts, conglomerates usually accentuate the new features of their products and they endeavour to show the customers that their product is the latest version. In my opinion, this action is beneficial for companies paying for the adverts insofar as the highlighting of the new specifications is not deception, therefore, if morally done, the positive aspects can outweigh the negatives. To begin with, there are many advantages to highlighting the new aspects of a product. Numerous customers are tired of the old-fashioned but with similar purpose merchandise and are eager to pivot to a better and newer version. consequently, the advert needs to be created for that purpose. To cite an example, numerous cell phone models are built by numerous manufacturers but only a few models lead the company to success and are sold worldwide. The main reason for it is that the advertisements are highlighting the new features of the newer models and are having the latest versions stand out and show off what makes them so dissimilar from the former ones, hence, incentivizing the consumers to try out the brand-new phones. Additionally, from a consumer’s perspective, trying out some attributes they have not yet tried is exciting for them and lets them get away from repetition thus persuading them to pay money for the advertised products. On the contrary, some manufacturers highlight the new and fascinating factors to distract the customers’ attention from the weaknesses and drawbacks. Therefore, not being completely truthful to the audience can have long-term negative effects on their businesses as people watching the adverts don’t like to be deceived. For instance, in the case of failed cellphone advertisements, the phone may have brand-new details or constituents but they have probably tried to divert the audience's attention from the less meticulous factors. In conclusion, I believe when advertising new merchandise, the company responsible for manufacturing the product, has to accentuate the newly-added features of it to tempt the audience to purchase the goods. However, they must not try to cover up the weak or old details. Therefore, if a company implements said factors, emphasizing that the products are new when advertising can be positive.