many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the contemporary era, people are working hard to become financially stable in their lives; therefore, they are so busy caring care for their parents and grandparents. A number of people send them to old age care homes. However, this trend has a few positive points and a few negative points which will be further discussed in the following paragraphs along with suitable examples. To commence with, there is a number of benefits to sending older people to nursing care homes. Firstly, a large number of individuals are working in 9 to 5 job, and they get really tired after coming from work. Therefore, they do not have enough time as well as energy to serve older people in their families. To send them care homes is the best solution, as the elder people need more care and attention due to the process of ageing making them vulnerable to injury and disease easily. Besides this, these nursing care departments provide all the basic health facilities along with better environmental conditions. Moreover, all the facilities are free for them, as the authority is paying their all the expenses including medical treatments. For instance, a report from Time Now in 2018 stated that almost 35% of total tax is used for only old age homes to provide better facilities and services for elder people. Hence, people can do their work without worrying about their parent's health. On the other hand, there are also multifarious drawbacks to this trend. Although the nursing staff are well trained and they provide the best facilities to old people, they feel lonely and sad. They miss their family members because they want to spend a good quality of time with their children. Apart from this, older people have a low mental health condition which means the chances of depression are more for compared to younger people. For instance, a report from Oxford University in 2017 stated that a large number of older people in nursing homes were on anti-depressant drugs and almost 40% of elder people died because they did not take their meals properly, and refused to live there. Therefore, there is a huge dark side also of this trend. In conclusion, even though, sending elder people to nursing homes for their care is good for families, it has more disadvantages, as older people need more love and affection at this age. In my opinion, a home care nurse should be provided by the families. So that older people do not feel lonely and sad.