Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is an ingredient that is present in numerous products that we eat every day. Many opine that sugar -laden products should be made more costly so that people refrain from including such foods in their diets as they can cause detrimental health issues. I disagree with this opinion, as there are more effective alternatives such as spreading awareness and adopting lifestyle changes. Educating people about the diseases caused by consuming sugar will motivate them to decrease their intake. This can be done by organising seminars and talk shows by doctors for the general public. There are plenty of individuals that are not aware of the ill effects of sugar. Therefore, making them realise the harm it can cause will push them to avoid it. Although, these seminars will be beneficial, the adoption of healthy lifestyle changes and measures to reduce the intake of sugar is more necessary. For example, exercise for at least 20-30 minutes every day will alleviate numerous health problems. In addition, school canteens should ban colas and sweets so that children do not consume them regularly. Nevertheless, sugar is an essential ingredient required to produce bread. A large proportion of economically weaker sections of the society use bread as their staple food. Increasing the price of sugar will make it more expensive, and such families may fail to satisfy their hunger. In conclusion, merely increasing the price of sugar is not the best way to abstain people from consuming it. Moreover, it would frustrate the poor. Spreading awareness in the population about the hazards of consuming large amounts of sugar and active participation of school authorities to instil a healthy lifestyle will prove to be more beneficial in decreasing its consumption.