Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some sections of society believe that only governments and large companies can help the environment to improve and that the common man cannot do anything of this sort. I do not agree with this principle, because taking care of our environment is the wholesome responsibility of each and every human being on this planet. Only certain authorities cannot help much if people are not going to support the cause. In today's era, mankind has almost forgotten to take care of their mother nature. Most of the folks only take care of their own selves. As a result, we have seen an enormous increase in our carbon footprint each day. In the previous 2 to 3 decades, there is a sudden increase in temperature across the globe due to global warming. This is creating incessant rainfalls at certain places, and no rainfall at all at others. However, all these bad effects can be corrected, if we take some swift actions now, although it has to be a collective effort from every man and woman. If we keep destroying our environment and keep dreaming that one day some government organization will show up and fix the problem, then it is going to be too disastrous. We must act now. Small steps can create wonders. For example, while visiting a restaurant, carry your own spoons and straws. This will enable us to avoid using plastic, which is way more dangerous for our seas and soil. These days, large organizations have become aware of going carbon neutral; they can help in organizing funds for the issue, but in the end, it is up to the citizens to act on the matter. Also, for clean and green energy, governing bodies are running plenty of campaigns, such as airing commercials on televisions, incentivizing solar energy users, etc. If we opt for such energy, then it will be considered that we are doing our bit to save nature. In a nutshell, it is the responsibility of not only large companies or governments, but all of us to give it back to our motherland. In return, we will see the effects of our bad deeds going away soon, and a burst of sunshine at the end of the dark tunnel.