Some people work for the same organization all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organizations. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

While several individuals are of the opinion that working for a single firm for their entire career is the right way to grow, others suggest that working for multiple firms is more beneficial. Personally, I agree with the latter argument as it enriches one ’s work experience and pays them well in the long run. People favour being employed with a single company for several reasons. Firstly, some individuals within their first job find the type of work they want to work for whole their life and thus, stick with that firm for their remaining career. For example, many folks in my previous organisation have been working there for over 25 years as they liked everything about their job profile. Secondly, many firms have the policy of promoting only internal people to higher posts, which motivates current employees to keep on working with them. For instance, TCS is one such firm where people are regularly awarded for their loyalty by promoting them to senior positions. Thus, many employees like the idea of working with a single firm. On the contrary, one can garner better job experience and higher pay having worked with different firms over their career. By switching to different organizations, one gets to work in varying work environments over diverse roles, which significantly enhances their work skills and makes them better equipped for problem-solving. This greatly improves their job profile and increases their market demand and thus they can command a higher premium for their job. To exemplify, it is often seen that businesses offer around a 30% hike for any experienced person coming from a different brand versus offering single-digit hikes for the retainers. Hence, it is better to switch jobs at regular intervals. To sum up, it is a personal choice for one to decide whether they want to work with multiple brands or stick to a single company. But for me, a person having experience working with several organisations is preferred.