With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be. Discuss the cause of this problem and offer some possible solution of it.

In the modern era, there has been an increase in the number of divorces across the world, and many people believe modern families don’t have strong bonds among their members like they had in the past. I believe changing lifestyle is the major reason behind this. More thoughtfulness and couple counselling can help tackle this problem. The foremost reason that people don’t feel strongly connected to their family is due to the big shift humans have seen in their living style in the last decade. Firstly, competition has increased with the advent of the internet and as a result, people are now working longer than ever due to which they are not able to spend much time with their family members. This significantly weakens the ties one used to feel for their close ones. For example, many folks simply face time their wife while they are away for work even though their spouse might need them in person. Secondly, modern society has become more individualistic with time where everyone prioritises themselves over anything. Living in a family requires one to make many sacrifices for the happiness of each other, but this recent shift in societal values makes them fulfil their needs first over anyone. Hence, the relationships are getting weaker by day and more couples are splitting up. There are two major solutions to improving bonds among family members. The first one requires individuals to use a more thoughtful approach to bring a balance between their work and family time. For instance, one can look to working from home which ensures they can have an ample amount of time to enjoy with their partner. Another possible way of solving this issue is to explore the option of going for a counselling session whenever things go sour between relatives. To exemplify, many young couples in the USA have expressed an interest in resolving their fights by talking to a counsellor, who helps them by giving feasible ways of improving their relationship. To sum up, the drastic change that computers have brought in people’s lives is responsible for weak family ties. Being more available for their family and taking external help are a few ways to tackle this issue.