Nowadays people around the world are spending more money on consumer goods like TVs and microwave ovens. Is this a positive or negative development?

Excess of anything cannot be good. In my opinion, this negatively impacts the consumers. In this essay, I would illustrate how consumer goods create an adverse impact on consumers. Consumer goods create dependency on them. In the era prior to the development of these items, one would notice families gathering after meals playing board games or interacting with each other. With the birth of these goods, people are being disconnected as they spend their time now in front of the TV than focussing on interpersonal relationships. Consumer goods create insecurities. In today's world, we live a life of comparisons. People are constantly comparing their lifestyle to others on the basis of what they possess. Usage of products like mobile phones, beauty products and other electronic goods creates social and peer pressure on those who do not own these items. The insecurities of people compel them to buy these products to feel acceptable or socially equivalent to their peers. These goods are also harmful to the environment. It is very difficult to sometimes easily recycle these consumer goods and most of them end up in landfills or oceans if they are not properly disposed. Some of these commodities may also release toxic wastes which destroy not only the environment but also affect the health and welfare of the humans who live nearby. To summarize this essay, consumer goods have created a lifestyle of insecurities, and social disconnections and brought harm to the environment. All of this in my opinion is a negative development.