Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, what measurements can governments and individuals take to respong to this problem?

Nowadays, the hitches allied to the increasing demand for freshwater are mounting dangerously. This essay will discuss the main causes of this trend including population blasts and the construction of more factories and industries; however, this essay will also suggest solutions to alleviate these problems including controlling populations and increasing public awareness in order to reduce the waste of water. Needless to say, the source of origin of snags related to excessive demand for water is multitudinous. Despite that, the conspicuous among them is the growth of masses worldwide. For example, a survey conducted by ILO in 2015, revealed that in the last two decades, the growth of the population was 40% higher than it was before. Therefore, the demand for freshwater has increased more than thrice. Besides this, another problem that aggravates the situation is inclining a number of industries and factories in order to meet the consumption demand. If the industries discharge sewage water to natural resources, it might pollute the source of fresh water as well as diminish it. As a result, the demand for drinking water increases. Hence, it is perceptible why the demand for freshwater is perceived as a grave threat. Are there any measures to combat this problem? Certainly, there are. Having identified the root of the problem, a good remedy can be implementing environmental protection laws on industries strictly. It should be strictly prohibited to discharge the wastewater and sewage on natural resources without refining them. A number of multi-national companies have already taken some initiatives. For instance, Pran Agro Limited, a renowned multi-national company has already started to create a factory with a zero discharge rate. Consequently, this may lead to less wastewater, thus curbing the side effects. On balance, it can be conjectured that these solutions may help in suppressing the effect of this phenomenon. In conclusion, governments and individuals. should do more in order to tackle the growing water use; otherwise, water scarcity will become severe around the globe