Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Along with the development of modern technology, many employees are facing the challenge of updating their knowledge and technical skills to meet the requirements of the market. Companies are considered to be responsible for organising training for their employees by some people, while others argue that it is the employees themselves who should try to catch up with marketing updates and technological evolutions. In my opinion, businesses should support their staff to acquire the skills and knowledge they need financially. Companies should be responsible for including training costs in their budget properly for two reasons. On the one hand, it is the company’s responsibility to make sure that their employees are eligible for their own work, businesses should make every effort to achieve this, including paying for these kinds of training uniformly. For example, a hospital should make sure its doctors are well-trained by qualified specialists when they import a new surgical apparatus, otherwise patients could receive improper treatments. On the other hand, only the organizers in their company know precisely what kind of new information or skills each department will need in the future, that is why they need to add training cost into their budget and formulate it clearly. For people who disagree that businesses should pay for the training, they might insist that this solution would be a waste of money because individuals come from different academic backgrounds, and employees should decide what they actually need based on their career perspectives. However, considering the avoidable consequence a staff without proper training could lead to, the companies should make efforts to qualify their employees even though there might be a potential waste. Moreover, individuals can also save money by attending general training and going to specific training based on their own career perspectives. In conclusion, the fast updating of information and technology are both risks and challenges to companies and individuals. Companies should take responsibility for paying for the training needed for their staff, which is more effective. Meanwhile, employees could save money from this and plan their own needs based on their career plans.