Youth nowadays spend a lot of money. what are the causes for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, with an increase in an overall income for most of the individuals especially youth, most of people prefer to spend money extravagantly rather than saving it. This essay addresses the possible causes for the problem also suggests whether it is a positive or negative development. Firstly, the main reason people spend more money is because of the lack of awareness. Generally, people are not aware of the long-term benefits and most of them are myopic favoring current lavish lifestyle as against a better future. Moreover, people are unfamiliar about the potential merits of investments, and corresponding benefits of long-term investments of their funds. Furthermore, people have no idea about the magic of "compounding interest" a mathematical formula that allows their money to grow exponentially in the future, rather than having zero money increment while spending money lavishly. For example, in the United States, average investment per person is far less as compared to India, hence, there exists various retirement funds and plans where Americans have to spend more money to buy by paying huge premiums, however in India where people often save money from day one of earning, thus having enough money for their retirement. In addition, people often don’t have money to pay for any emergency medical situation which may arise in the future. Considering all the possible issues, it has many negative effects on the individuals because they don’t often have enough financial investment planning which prevents them from understanding a bigger picture of their life financially. Secondly, people generally tend to spend more money because of various psychological reasons. To begin with, individuals prefer a more lavish lifestyle nowadays as compared to being frugal, eventually compromising on their comfort. Due to urbanization, with an increase in the overall income for most of the individuals in the cities, people are more often grow up with the mentality of spending more money by favoring their comfort. For example, an average individual in the city Mumbai which the financial capital of India often spends most of the income of restaurants, hotels, and bars to enjoy the city life, while only 3% of people invest money for the future. This not only affects their future goals, but also does not provide a viable solution for overall nation's economy. Since the nation’s financial economy is decided based on how much financial invested assets the country holds. To conclude, spending money often provide short term benefits, however, investing money provides a better long term benefit for the individuals which outweigh the benefits of instant spending by a huge margin.