Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes desagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument among certain demographics of the society that few people prefer to select friends who share common thoughts as themselves, while others feel that it is better to have friends who sometimes oppose their thoughts. In my opinion, the latter is more loyal to friendship, since they are always honest and do not mask the fallacies of their friends. This essay expresses both views and articulates more about my personal opinion. Firstly, similar opinions embark on better collaboration and a more convivial nature among the friends in the group. In addition, this allows more strong emotional bonding between them, since there is no hatred among the group for a particular person who deliberately opposes the view of the group. Moreover, it has many psychological advantages, since sharing the same opinion allows the individuals to be more trusted because of the similarity in their thoughts which eventually means having the same thought process. For example, a survey conducted by the human research department at the University of California Irvine, found that 90% of per cent of the people have a proclivity toward like-minded people who have the same opinions, while the remaining 10% were excluded because of their erratic views about the main topic of the survey. Despite all these benefits, it gives rise to newer problems in a friendship that are conceived by the positive outcomes. Contradicting someone's opinion, not only prooves a more caring nature of the person to prevent any pitfalls in future, but also this sometimes acts as a guiding path for all the people in the group who are digressing from the main goal of communication. To explain this, most of the time people are blindfolded because of the positives, while only a few can point out that it may not be meritorious to follow this path. In such scenarios, whenever a person in the group opposes views it eventually provides a newer direction to the overall thought process. Secondly, friends sometimes persuade others for their personal benefit by praising and accepting all the opinions that the friend takes. However, this is not always the case, it involves a feeling of dishonesty that is often masked behind the smiling face. For instance, research conducted by the department of psychology at the University of Delhi found that whenever any friend in a group opposes a particular opinion since it is more fruitful as compared to other's opinions showed more success rate, rather than friends who always accept the same opinion. To conclude, in my, opinion it is always better to have a single honest friend who guides the path to success by pointing out flaws in my thinking process, rather than having a friend who persuades me by accepting all the statements that I make.