Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Disputing the purpose of school, people have different perspectives on pursuing social or individual values. Some others believe that literature for kids to become good citizens is way more important. I partially agree with the statement, the essay will interpret some related reasons. Firstly, the presence of a country is constructed by a society, which involves the citizens, buildings, systems and forth on. Naturally, becoming a decent resident or a valuable worker must be an essential element of a country. Throwing back to the past, educating the crowds and teaching them knowledge were the begins of the schools. To illustrate, in the Japanese colonial period, Taiwan's schools only taught students the knowledge of agriculture and business. Therefore, they could serve the public and benefit society when they graduated. On the other hand, due to the improvement of technology and medicine, the social value and aims have completely transferred. Thus, people tend to spend more time and money on pursuing their careers or future lives. Likewise, the school is regarded as an organisation that offers children opportunities and dreams. For instance, nowadays universities establish a variation of departments and all kinds of exchange schemes for students to experience their life widely. Additionally, increasing interpersonal value can also enhance the quality of society and the living standards of citizens. To conclude, despite the difference in the standing views, the debates will always exist. From my point of view, schools should always be a place where children can fulfil their purpose whether what are they going to be. By supporting the individuals, there will always be a possibility for a better society.