In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing…. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, the population of many countries is becoming fatter and their health quality and fitness are declining. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problems are caused by cheap fast food and a sedentary lifestyle, and then argue that increasing the price of junk food and opening more gym centers even in the workplace are the most viable solutions. The foremost problems causing obesity and health problems are that fast food is sold at a very low price and many people work behind a computer 8 hours a day. As long as we can find junk food on every corner and their costs are low compared to foods, which are healthier, everybody would eat them. Furthermore, there are a vast majority of employees who work in offices and seat behind their desks for over 8 hours a day, therefore they don't move much. There was a study in which it was showed that people, who work from their laptops, are 40% more at risk for obesity. Possible solutions to these problems could be to raise the price of unhealthy food and open health clubs even in the offices. If states put pressure on fast food sellers to increase their costs, then a large number of people wouldn't buy it and they will prefer to cook at home. In addition, offices should open gym centers for their employees in order to support them to do sport every day. Google Company is one of the most famous in the world with lots of work done from behind the desks, but their members are among the healthier, as reported by BBC, because they have over 10 gym centers in their plant, and their employees can use them every time they want. To conclude, the percentage of fat people is increasing dramatically and something should be done. There are some reasons that lead to this situation, such as fast foods, which are easy to find and cheap, and sedentary lifestyle, which nowadays it seems everybody has. By putting a higher price on junk foods and opening more health clubs, we can solve a number of these problems.