In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes(suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, western garments have gained more popularity amongst people over traditional clothes. It is undoubtedly a positive development, as western garments are more comfortable, easy to carry, and suitable for all body types. I believe this development exerts positive impacts on society. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain why western clothes are advantageous over traditional ones. Much of the popularity of western clothes come from the media industry. They attract individuals from all over the world. One of the reasons people switch to western clothes is that they are easily accessible and you can practically buy these clothes from any shop. Another advantage is that they are cost-effective. It can be effortlessly produced in large quantities by various machinery than hand-crafted garments, such as Indian kalamkari sarees and Japanese kimono. Additionally, western clothes are easy to carry and can be purchased from any country. In today’s world, where more and more people migrate to foreign countries to work or study, switching to western clothes makes them less vulnerable to dress-based discrimination. Moreover, it creates a sense of unity when working with people from different parts of the world. On the contrary, traditional outfits are not that readily available in many parts of the world. Though some people believe that letting go of traditional clothes will be like discarding our own culture, wearing western garments like jeans, skirts and T-shirts give a global identity. To sum up, switching to western clothes does not mean abandoning traditional garments. Infact, by adapting to modern attire, people feel more comfortable and connected to the rest of the world.