It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is believed that children should be able to differentiate between what is right and what is wrong from an early age and in order to achieve that, punitive measures are unavoidable. In my opinion, being punished for misleading actions is necessary for children not to repeat their mistakes. On the one hand, children who get punished for mischief at an early age are likely to become more self-disciplined in the future. After receiving punishment for doing something wrong, children would try not to repeat it in fear of being disciplined again. Children who do not get punished might assume that what they did is fine and continue doing it again and again, since they are not mature enough to understand the consequences of their actions. It is quite visible that pampering children could negatively affect their development in the future. On the other hand, too harsh punishments could cause a lot of trauma and pain to the children themselves. Beating children could help them realize their mistakes but it could also cause hatred towards their parents to develop gradually. There are still many effective punitive measures that don't involve physical chastisement. For example, at home, parents can forbid children from doing something they enjoy like watching TV or playing games as a punishment. Another example, when I was young, teachers used to punish me for not doing my homework by having me write down the same apology sentence 200 times, and this was very effective. In conclusion, it is crucial for children to be penalized for behaving badly because this will affect their development in a positive way in the future.