Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, people pay more and more attention to the products they consume. Customers are reaping the benefits of these time saver products, but they should also beware of the drawbacks that come along with the consumption of these goods. This essay shall discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this growing trend. On the one hand, there is no doubt that consumerism is not only boosting the economy, it is also improving the overall standard of living. This is due to the increased demand for consumer goods that has created more and more jobs. Besides that home appliances such as washing machines help eliminate a daily household chore that gives people more time for relaxation and leisure. For instance, in VietNam, Samsung has invested a total $ 17,7 billion USD with 6 factories and 110,000 employees. On the other hand, materialism has created bad habits which have negatively impacted people’s lives. Family members now often have less communication face to face than they did before. This is due to dependencies of electronic devices such as smartphones, laptops and iPads. For example parents and their children could be sitting together in a room, but they are totally separate from each other, because they all are busy with their online communication. In addition, they are heavily relying on consumer entertainment goods. This may lead people to become less active which can have negative consequences such as obesity, diabetes and overall poor general health. In conclusion, the increased demand for consumer goods is actually a double edged sword. There are some benefits such as a higher standard of living and a better overall economy. However, there are also some drawbacks such as a lesser family connection and negative health aspects. Overall, it was clear to me that the consumption of consumer goods does outweigh the harmful effects.