Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to a section of society, the primary goal of tertiary education is to enable individuals to secure coveted jobs. However, others strongly believe that goal of higher education is to achieve the greater good; both for individuals and society. I strongly believe that the purpose of university education is far beyond job prospects and in the course of the essay, I will discuss both viewpoints. There are specific reasons why people believe that tertiary education is the gateway to lucrative jobs. Firstly, the professional world of certain white collared, highly respected professions, like those of physicians, engineers, and scientists can only be pursued, after graduating from the respective university courses. The market research, for example, has shown that in the United States and other developed countries postgraduates are able to command a considerable higher salary at the workplace when compared to graduates or simply high school diploma holders. Moreover, in certain fields like management, the credibility of various universities is judged by their ability to generate glittering well-paid employment offers for their fresh graduates, during their campus placements. Hence university education is definitely perceived as a means of better employability. However, others argue that, apart from generating lucrative jobs for students, universities also benefit the nation by creating educated societies, containing an immense pool of forwarding thinking individuals, who can contribute to social development with their respective expertise. For example, degree holders from universities also additionally benefit from the multicultural environments that promote intercultural tolerance, brotherhood, teamwork, and collective development amongst students. Over and above, numerous long-lasting friendships, business partnerships and courtships also bloom from the university campus life. So, it is clear that besides education there are numerous social and individual advantages of postgraduation. In conclusion, it can be confidently stated that apart from generating respectable employment, there are numerous associated positive aspects of university education, which are of great social and individual significance.