Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.?

Some people suggest that the government should not spend money on the arts sector such as music and paintings, instead of it, the budget should be applied to other public services. I tend to disagree with this statement because in my way of thinking investing in arts is the same to invest in the tourism sector. Moreover, art not only allows people to express themselves but also helps them to develop creativity. To begin with, if the government spends money on the arts, especially on music and museums part of the money might be recovered. Since, promoting events such as, shows and traditional events would make a city more attractive to tourists. Consequently, the economy of the city will be stronger. For example, here in Brazil Carnaval is one of the most popular events that we have and, the government spends a lot of money helping the parades of samba schools happen. However, is widely known that a huge part of the money previously invested is recovered by tourists from other cities, also other sectors such as hotels and restaurants usually make more money and have more job opportunities during the period of the event. Moving to another reason, spending money on arts should never be considered a waste of money. Because in the art people tend to express their feelings and develop creativity. One of the best example of it could be rap music, where musicians usually transform their life and reality into lyrics and all listeners can learn from a different perspective. Furthermore, arts such as dance streets, could be an effective way of let adolescents and children away from crime. In conclusion, although it is important to invest resources in other public services the money spent on arts could be recovered by promoting public events. Furthermore, in my view, it is crucial allow to people the opportunity to express themselves and their realities as we could learn from them.