Now that computers can very well translate all kinds of languages in the world, do we really need to learn more languages in future? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computers have, indeed, taken over the world. With incessant technological development and with machines replacing humans in most fields, the significance of learning new languages has declined substantially. Many advocate that, with the availability of online translators, one does not require to put in the hard work and effort to pick up a new foreign tongue. However, the process of language learning helps in social, cultural, intellectual and personal development of an individual. Computers have made man's life easy in many ways, translators being one of its many contributions. Computers help in easy and quick translations and can definitely benefit travellers as well as working professionals who do not have enough time or interest in learning a new language. However, learning a new language has its own charm. It appeals to an individual's intellect and aids academic development. For instance, many students learn languages just to pursue courses in foreign lands for their professional development. Moreover, if a person wants to migrate to another country and desires to assimilate the culture of the place and feel unified with the indigenous population, then learning the language and speaking it fluently is of utmost importance. Although computers are useful yet the process of computer translation is mechanical and lacks the vitality of human interaction. Also, wrong translation can lead to misunderstandings and lead to a communication gap. Therefore, in my opinion, over-dependence on technology must be avoided and individuals should seek to broaden their intellectual horizons by learning new languages.