Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Government investment is an essential thing that governments need to give good services to societies. There is an opinion that the investment is better to put in public services than in the arts. To my view, the opinion is not relevant that the government investment in public services is more necessary than arts. I will explain two points of view which are the impact of arts on society's mental health and the profit that might be gained. First of all, art exhibitions such as music and theatre have the ability to improve mental health. For instance, it is widely known that people nowadays are busy working and do have not enough time to take a holiday, especially those who work in urban cities. Because of this, they usually spend their free time on weekends such as attending an art event like a street music event in a public area or watching a play in a theatre. This can release the stress that they get at work that impacts their mental health and productivity. Therefore, it is clear that government investment in the arts is important. Secondly, if governments are able to invest in the right portion of arts and public services, the arts and public services will be supporting each other to gain much more profit. For example, easy access to integrated public transportations to reach tourist attractions, as well as art events in public areas such as metro stations, city gardens, and museums, enable to draw people to attend and surely pay for it. This is the advantage that will be gotten from the good investment. Thus this becomes apparent that the profit might be higher through the right combination of arts and public services investment. In conclusion, the government investment in not only public services but also arts can give benefits such as the improvement of public mental health and the good profit for the national income. Therefore, it is clear the idea that government investment is better put in public services than in the arts cannot be supported. It should be considered for government to combine the investment in the arts and public services.