The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, it comes as no surprise that advertisements can be seen everywhere, from banners being hung up on the street to advertising video on the Internet. Most of them are very irritating and sometimes detrimental too. However, I suppose that we just need to prohibit and regulate more strictly some kinds of advertising but not all of them. There is no denying the fact that there are more and more fiddling advertisements printed outstandingly on newspaper or distributed by hand. The development of information technology makes the availability of such advertisement viral. Some of them, especially those with violent or sexy imagery, can be harmful to the growth of children in terms of physics and mentality. Furthermore, the majority of advertisements tend to exaggerate the quality of products and overlook their drawbacks. For instance, attractive videos about a kind of spicy snack or fast food can easily increase people’s appetite and make them skip the main meals which are far more healthy. However, only by creating enchanting forms of advertising can we encourage consumers ‘purchase, boost company’s revenue and eventually lead to economic development. Moreover, formal advertisements, particularly from prestige labels, might partly direct customers to which products they are more appropriate with. Then, they can make a good choice on their own. Therefore, competent authorities should take immediate measures to control the numbers as well as the content of each advertisement to ensure that they represent the true quality level of product and customers are not deceived. To wrap up, I am in favour of limitation and enacting stringent regulations to advertisements instead of banning all kind of them.