Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the media tends to broadcast more negative reports rather than positive news which some people believe impacts the public and society from a bad perspective. I completely agree with this argument and I will present a variety of reasons to support it in this essay. There are various negative influences on individuals and society from intensive reporting of negative information and extreme cases. Firstly, it brings anxiety and pressures which could lead to health issues such as mental disorders. For instance, people got depression after reading about sad news such as disasters and wars. Secondly, broadcasting news about extreme behaviors such as drugs and violence builds a bad model for young people. For example, there is an increasing on imitation of criminal cases among teenages since the media reported an extreme crimal mady by a Japanese boy and futhermore, more and more suicide cases would be a consequence of copying from reported cases. Finally, the negative influences on individuals could influence different aspects on society, such as education, economy and stability. It would be good to report more positive development due to many reasons. Firstly, people could learn to think of the good aspects of a situation rather than the bad ones. For example, the media could report some stories about the helps people got to build up their homes after disasters. Secondly, people become hopeful and confident if they know more about the good development in society. Finally, the balance of negative and positive news could reduce the bias from the media and show the public the complete truth and fact about the happenings. In conclusion, the trend of focusing on reporting issues and emergencies instead of reporting positive development could lead to some negative influences on individuals and society which I believe that media should concern about.