In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ageing of the population becomes a pressing issue for many developed countries. Many elderly people go to nursery homes, which is followed by the question of who should pay for it? Some people believe government should pay the bill while others think the family. In this essay, I'm going to argue that government should take most of the responsibility in terms of taking care of the elderly for several reasons. Like medicare, receiving care when aged is a basic human need, and therefore should be protected by the whole society. Everyone will get old and deserve to be cared for, no matter how sinful or noble you are. People should have a decent life at the end of this passage. If we agree that basic medicare should be provided by the government, so does the elderly nursery. What's more, if the government didn't interfere, there will be a huge amount of elderly people who cannot get basic care because unable to pay for it. Only government, through taxing the wealth and spending on the poor, can redistribute wealth and help elderly people to live a decent life. Some people argue that it is unfair for the government, which is the taxpayers, to pay for other people's nursery bills. But I think like infrastructure and public education, taking care of the elderly should be the consensus of the whole society. This doesn't mean that the government should cover all bills. Like medicare and education, there are public ones and private ones. The former provides basic services and the latter provides special or luxury care. Government should guarantee every elderly can get decent care and individual can pay extra fees if they have special or fancy needs. In summary, everyone will get old one day. It should be a consensus that we share the responsibility to take care of the elderly, which will be best implemented by the government.