Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people are fond of consuming sugary food products that can be detrimental to their health. Thus, it is now claimed that the price of those kinds of products ought to be raised while others disagree with that solution. It is irrefutable that if food and drinks that contain sugar are much more costly, it may dissuade people from purchasing them. However, there is no doubt that many people will try to save up money in order to satisfy their craving for sweets if they do not have self-control and try to cut down on their intake of sugary food and desserts. In addition, it is necessary for authorities to educate people on the consequences of over-eating sweets, namely obesity, diabetes and heart diseases so that they will actually try to decrease the consumption of food with high levels of sugar. Therefore, making those products less afforable does not necessarily mean that people will consume less sugar. Futhermore, people from well-off families can still easily and conveniently get their hands on those eateries deespite the rise in the price and thus, increasing their price will not work for them. Moreover, if supermarkets keep stocking manufactured beverages and food without any warning about health consquences, people will be tempted to buy them regardless of the price and they will become even more addicted to sweets. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that making sugary products cannot prevent most people from consuming them. Instead, they should try to raise awareness about the effects of those unhealthy food and drinks on health.