It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is irrefutable that youngsters must know how to differentiate between what is morally right and wrong so as to grow into well-mannered individuals. To provide guidance to them, some claim that punishments are indispensible while others disagree. While detentions and penalties might be effective to teach children how to behave up to a certain extent, I believe that those are no feasible in the long run. Firstly, young children might listen and follow the pieces of advice when they are in the sight of their parents and teachers in fear of harsh punishments. Nevertheless, they may not be able to grasp the real differences between right and wrong if their guardians do not properly explain the concepts to them. This, in turn, can turn them into ignorant people in the future. In addition, some adolescents might even deliberately misbehave to rebel their educators who seem eager to discipline or beat them. Thus, educating them to make them become aware of the detrimental impacts of ethically questionable things during the early stage of their life will be much more practical. However, if parents and teachers are adamant about punishing youngsters to aid them in learning the distinction, there are a few actions that can be accomplished. In order to teach manners and acceptable behaviours to them, adults can make them write essays on those kinds of topics when they are not on their best behaviour to force them to reflect on their wrong-doings. This will help them to know more about the right and wrong. Furthermore, a more common discipline technique would be not allowing them to be out and about and play with other peers whenever they are not listening to their lectures. If this action is taken, children will be motivated to learn more about those topics and they will know what kinds of behaviours are unacceptable. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that solely punishing youngsters will not be adequate to guide them on how to distinguish between the right and wrong although there might be some ways that encourage them to do so.