To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree?

To be called a ‘Work of Art ’ different types of art have to illustrate some peculiar characteristics. However, the quality of prize-winning artwork has dropped, and nowadays it is common to label average works of art as “masterpieces” while the real ones stay out of focus. I agree with this statement to some content. To commence with, Radio, TV, and Internet, Media, in short, have changed everything. In our days, because of the Internet, everyone can express themselves through art and show it to their audience. Now there are many tools such as influential marketing that enable to reach a wide audience and promote even the usual artworks. And also there is PR which comes to help and creates a good reputation for them. Thus it has become widespread not to differentiate the true art from a usual one. For example, Tik-Tok brings up new inefficient songs, makes them mainstream and especially youngsters get acquainted with songs that have poor quality and good ones are left unobserved. And the prizes mainly go to popular artworks mentioned above. On the other hand, many talented people became known due to Media. For instance, Musical shows such as ‘The Voice’, ‘Dance if you can’ and others revealed gifted artists who received a lot of prizes and who would most likely stay unknown if these opportunities did not exist. And it became a basis for them to start their career and create new high-quality works. To conclude, although differentiation between real artworks and ordinary ones is difficult nowadays, the real talents will find their way and now they have the wide opportunity due to Media.