It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and tradition are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The development of technology could make some cultures disappear. Some people belive that technology and tradition can not coexist with tradition. In my opinion, I partly agree with modernization will cause cultures to change and my reason will be outlined. On the one hand, it is admitted that technology offers some clear benefits to maintaining tradition. The primary merit of technology is that provides knowledge of cultures to people. To explain, the smartphone can help people search the internet which has plenty of information about their culture. Another advantage of cutting-edge technology is that can bring our tradition to the foreigner. In particular, our cultures will be more popular with tourists who do not know; as a result, local people will understand the importance of their cultures. For example, a product of technology called Facebook is a social media which can connect local people and tourists to have a cultural conversation, thus foreigners will know more about their cultures. On the other hand, there still exist some drawbacks of technology to traditional. Firstly, the development of automation could be disadvantageous because it causes some changes in our culture. To illustrate, on the “Tet holiday” people often make “Chung cake” which is a traditional cake on this day but when shopping online develops, people tend to buy the already-made Chung cake instead of making it with their family. Secondly, the development of technology could mean people will lazier and they do not want to meet their family face to face. To clarify, people can use the social media app to make video call in the day when the time for family gathering. For example, people decide to use Facebook to make video call when they can not come back home in tet holiday. If they do not change their habits, they will lose their traditional cultures. In conclusion, while modernization appears to be beneficial for some reasons, including bringing information about cultures to people, I still believe that the negative impacts it may expert are considerable, such as people making a video calls on social media instead of meeting in their home in traditional days.