Traditionally, elderly people have lived with and been cared for by younger family members. In modern society, more and more elderly people are living in special homes for the elderly. Why do you think families choose to have their elderly relatives live in special homes away from family? What do you think is the best way for modern families to care for their elderly relatives?

In the past, people used to live more in the same place where they grew up. As a result, it was common that sons lived near their parents. Instead, nowadays, people prefer to let their relatives live in care houses. This essay will discuss the reasons why youngers choose special houses for their relatives and why trying to stay close to them is the better choice. First, in modern society, people tend to move more from their hometown, especially for studying and working. So, often sons build their families far away from their parents. When the distances are so high, it is very difficult to follow all their necessities: buying kind of stuff for them and escorting them to clinic exams. Furthermore, society is so frenetic that even if sons are near they would not have time to look after them. In these cases, the only solution is to pay special houses for their safety and health. My own view is that living near their own relatives can guarantee strong relationships between parents and sons. Hence, sons have to think about the future of their parents before they become too old. Moreover, they have the duty not to relinquish them if they are not able to take care of themselves. Nevertheless, if the special house is the only possible choice they have to visit them for showing them frequently grandsons as well. In conclusion, staying close to their relatives and looking after them is not always possible in modern society. Often special houses are the best choice for sons and even for the elderly. But sons have to plan what to do with them in order to not to abandon them, because everyone doesn't want to stay alone in the last years of our lives.