Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In the business context, rewarding outstanding performance has been a frequently-used method. It motivates good employees to work more diligently. Yet, there are also drawbacks affecting the morale of others who could not meet the standard of work. As a result, this passage will deliberate its effectiveness in managing the organization and other compensational alternatives for exceptional contributions. To begin with, the system of awarding employees is essential for human resource management. The way it works is that the performance of employees is carefully observed and acknowledged by the head of the firm. The distinct work will be rewarded highly. It can be financial, spiritual, or both. Mentally speaking, the one receiving the awards could be encouraged to work even harder. They can devote their time and effort to the success of the company. Moreover, if the system is well-developed and fair between punishment and rewards, others who cannot achieve satisfactory results will perform more competently. Yet, there is some negative feedback regarding this human-managing method. The system is only effective if it has clear criteria for evaluating staff performance which means that it must clarify the definition of over-achievement and the under- performance. In the case of unclear clarification, it may mislead to the fact that the underperforming staff is unhappy that they may get mistreated in the workplace. In addition, the administrative level of business can reconsider this rewarding phenomenon as time and resource-consuming when it doesn't accomplish what the organization set it out to be - a way to encourage staff and enhance organizational performance. Therefore, a business should take various approaches to implement the existing system. One of the alternatives is to evaluate the long-term work efficiency of personnel. If the workers have outperformed for a definite time, the company should consider the promotion to a better salary and position for them thoroughly. Last but not least, many training systems exist in the workplace. The training section is an opportunity in which exceptional human resources can share their experience with others so that the team can improve their work efficiencies. In short, the reward system for outperforming staff encourages them to contribute more. However, it may also demoralize the under-achieving ones if there aren't any clearly-defined requirements to define what could have counted for over-accomplishment. Then it is a time-consuming but ineffective system. Generally, the organization could exploit the promotion process and training section to motivate the staff spirit and working efficiencies.