Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, marketing plays a vital role in the sales operations of companies. The powerful advertisements make people buy popular products which they might not require. I partially agree with this notion and in this essay, I will discuss both sides. On the first hand, appealing products featured in alluring ads are luring consumers to purchase items. The aesthetically presented commercials not only trick their minds but also provoke them for purchasing unwanted things. For instance, the television ad of the latest iPhone 13 represents its specifications on screen very smartly; due to which a potential phone buyer, who might not have enough budget would consider purchasing it. Even though if they have to go with the EMI option, they would not hesitate. Hence, I think, they do over-shopping by watching smart ads. However, on the other hand, in this modern world, vice purchasing decisions are being made by buyers as they are becoming smarter day by day. Before paying their hard-earned money, they prefer to do research over the internet regarding products, their ratings as well as customer feedback. To illustrate, a plethora of gadgets comparison sites are available on the world wide web which are being used by millions of users before they decide about their desired smartphone brand. Thus, despite the influence of billboards, shoppers are making mindful decisions about their shopping needs. In conclusion, in this era of marketing, the majority of sales for businesses are by commercials. There are a few people in society who get attracted to such marketing campaigns and do the shopping for unnecessary things; nevertheless, there is a major part of society which is not influenced by it. I believe that one should act smartly and buy things as per their requirement only.