smoking is a major source of serious illness and death throughout the world today.In the interest of public health ,government should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products .Do you agree or disagree

There are many studies that can confirm that smoking is very dangerous for our bodies. Some people argue that a solution could be to ban cigarettes and other tobacco products from the market. This essay will discuss how this government prohibition could have serious backwards. First, smoking is a millionaire business in many countries. As a result, if the government decide to eliminate this product, it will probably become a bootlegger business. This is because tobacco products have high demand and many people cannot easily abandon them. For example, during the 1930s, in the United States, alcohol was totally banned and it is known that people drank in hidden places and criminals sold illegal beverages for years earning a fortune. This period is called Prohibitionism and moreover, it caused also injuries to people who drank not well-distilled alcohol. Secondly, a ban is built to eliminate a product but it has the power to remind constantly to people to smoke instead to forget it. It is a psychological effect called the boomerang effect. As a result, it could be possible that after a prohibition a population cannot stop smoking and they also could be more attracted than before. Furthermore, younger tend to be more fascinated with illegal activities because they want to emancipate themselves from parents and laws. In conclusion, eliminating a product from the market with a law cause an enrichment of criminal organisations. Since both youngers like to rebel against institutions and it is hard for a smoker to stop thinking about cigars and cigarettes, a prohibition could increase the interest in tobacco products, which is the opposite desired effect.