Many people feel that media coverage has becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

With the advent of the internet, news can spread through various online platforms at a tremendous pace. As a result, biased reporting is increasing in this era of telecommunication. We will examine what attributes to this problem and discuss possible solutions in the following essay. The culprit for prejudiced reporting is insufficient monitoring by officials in the cyberspace. Before the internet era, newspapers, radio and television broadcasts were the mainstays for announcements and communication, where fake news die out rapidly as a result of cautious censorship by officials. Nowadays, anyone can post stories and "breaking news "on a wide range of platforms like Youtube or Twitter, and it is extremely difficult to overlook the sea of online posts to screen out problematic ones. Moreover, people of all ages and walks of life can share the most outrageous stories, which is possibly unfounded and unverified, engendering unnecessary anxiety and fear. News during COVID is a vivid illustration of this problem. During covid, there were repeated episodes of " news " which claims pending lockdown in the city of Hong Kong, and become viral online, where online censorship was loose. Despite repeated clarification by the authorities, the community went frantic and cause much stress and anxiety. It is clear that the flourishment of twisted media coverage is a result of inadequate censorship. In order to put things on the right track, the government will need to tighten its control over the web and exercise judicial censorship. This can be achieved with increasing the manpower and resources for online patrol. Furthermore, education campaigns for awareness of fake news should be in place, promoting careful judgement when browsing online. To conclude, biased media reporting is on the upward trend, which is attributed to the deficiency in government monitoring. This can be combated by enhanced supervision by officials and by educating the public.