Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In modern times, it can be observed an increase in the number of people hating their jobs, and even more frustrating is that they perform badly. In this essay, I will discuss some of the main causes and effects that this detrimental situation can bring to individuals and society as a whole. It can be argued that the major problem that causes unhappiness in our professional careers is the lack of self-awareness about our interests and motivations. Rather than invest time discovering what we like and what is the area best suits us, we are more worried about being hired by the first company that we contact or offer a position. Furthermore, this happens because of the pressure that we are experiencing constantly in our lives such as family and financial problems. From an individual perspective, it is proved that work in a field that we do not like can bring as consequence some issues, for instance, physical and mental disorders. Spending most of our time doing something that we do not enjoy makes us feel stressed and anxious. From a social perspective, sharing a workplace with people that do not perform well in their activities and show some kind of disinterest can contribute to a work toxic environment. In addition, companies with unhappy employees are more likely to be less profitable. In conclusion, nowadays is common to see people frustrated about their jobs, and working in areas without any vocation. There are many factors that contribute to this issue. Instead of forcing themselves into these situations, they should focus on understanding and knowing more about which are their natural abilities.