Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In modern times, it can be observed worldwide that known English has become incredibly important for everything. As a result, schools around the world are emphasizing on the teaching of it, while some people argue that we should encourage better the learning of local languages rather than prioritize a foreign idiom. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and explain why I believe it is important that everyone should be able to communicate in English. Despite, it is well known that most of the job opportunities posted nowadays on the market require at least a good level of English, there are some people who claim against academic programs that included a high number of hours dedicated to the language. It is believed by them that teaching a foreign idiom will lead dramatically to the local language’s death. Some other people, myself included, believe that the need of learning foreign languages is a consequence of globalisation. Countries and people have never been so connected as now, this would mean that we need a fraco language to make easier our communication. In addition, it was chosen as an international idiom because the majority of business are made in English over the world. Consequently, I believe children must start learning in the early years. However, this does not mean that I do not support the teaching of local languages, schools must also promote it through subjects such as history, literature, and grammatic. In conclusion, I support the idea that our education system should focus on giving a good level of English to their students, but must not miss the importance that our local language has for our cultural identity.