Consumer goods have become the most important part of people's lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, communities have become more and more materialistic; this new culture significantly impacts economic growth, innovations, and discoveries. But, if we look closely at this trend, we will see the serious environmental and health problems it can cause. Hence, I believe that the perks of consumer goods do not outweigh their detriments. Firstly, No one can deny the colossal impact consumerism has on economic thrive, namely, the non-ending cycle of selling and buying. The aim of people to purchase new items and services increases the amount of production, which in turn raises the manufacturing and employment, resulting in the betterment of living standards; this automatically means the nation's economic growth. Moreover, the constant demand for goods puts pressure on companies to innovate and discover new services that meet the purchasers' needs. For example, if a company introduces a low-quality product, it will lose its consumers to another competitor. Therefore, there are many good reasons why people adopted this new culture that it has become an essential part of their lives. However, the widespread consummation would come with environmental sacrifices. When companies' primary focus is providing for the markets' needs, the natural resources in the area will come under pressure. For example, companies usually use toxic chemical pesticides in the agriculture sector to faster the foods ripe, and the water may also experience scarcity. Furthermore, the fulfilment of materialistic individuals does not last long, and people can find themselves indebted, causing stress and depression in some cases. For instance, if a person is constantly indebted because of his intrusive behaviour of buying new things, all he will think about is gaining more money to spend, which can cause relationship conflicts and stress. Consequently, I deem that we need to start reasoning when it comes to environment and health issues because our well-being is second to none. In conclusion, while some people might think that consumer goods play a pivotal role in our daily life since it has numerous benefits, I still hold that we shouldn't turn a blind eye to the non-tolerable severe effects they have on our environment and health. Thus, I reckon that this trend causes more losses than gains.