Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Disucss both views and give your own opinion.

Majority of them think that it would be good to pick friends of similar perspectives as their own, while others think the other way around. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and share my opinion that it should be a mix of friends who have the same or different views. On the one hand, having like-minded friends seems to be sensible. It promotes unity, similar synergy, sharing and caring. For example, there are interest groups in social media apps these days, like 'Terrace Gardening Group', which connects people with common interests and learnings, success stories, tips etc, are shared. This seems to help with learning from each other's mistakes and helps to avoid pitfalls, and also promotes togetherness. Also, there is someone to back you in case things don't go well. On the other hand, having friends with different opinions promote diversity. It helps to think differently, visualize varied challenges and outcomes, and have holistic thinking. For example, B-Schools ensure that they admit students from different industries, so as to ensure that it benefits the entire spectrum of businesses. Also, it teaches how to handle conflicts and adversities. For these reasons, it would be sensible to build diversity in friendship. To conclude, though it is said that - birds of a similar feather flock together, I believe that one should have friends who have similar and diverse views, which would help to think through different possibilities and outcomes and handle adversities in life, thereby improving the quality of life.