Plastic bags, bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to slove this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The advancement in technology has widened the human thinking capacity where they find solutions to make life easy. Creation of plastic was one of the outcomes of innovation because of its durability, low cost and ease to use. There is a wide range of research about the negative impact of plastic consumption on nature. Hence, this essay will elaborate the harmful impact of non-bio-degradable products on our surroundings and solutions to overcome the issues. On the one hand, consumers are used to artificial products such as bags, bottles and other commodities because they are cheaper than other substitutes made from different materials. On the other hand, producers are used to plastic because of its low cost of production. However, environmental researchers proved with facts that products made out of plastic will take more than ten years to decompose. They have further emphasized, some products combined with chemicals will not decompose at all. For example, marine divers found different items from the seabed that are decades old. Moreover, garbage that has synthetic items has a high risk to wildlife because it does not digest after swallowing it. There are different solutions that have been taken by authorities, non-governmental organizations and the general public. The state has different regulations that bound the people to use other alternatives. For instance, tax imposed on plastic items. Furthermore, providing tax benefits for people and subsidies for entrepreneurs to purchase and create products using other environmentally friendly materials. Nevertheless, individuals have social responsibility to protect their habitat for their future generation by following reduce, reuse and recycle concept. To sum up, irrespective of rank, everyone has a duty to protect mother nature for prolonging life.