Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals would argue that it is essential for families and lecturers to guide students toward high demand career paths like computers, engineering, and science; some believe that students should have the freedom to choose their favourite classes. While the fact that learners are the best people who understand their own needs might encourage them to decide their career paths, I strongly believe that young people are inexperienced, thus they need guidance in order to succeed. On one hand, many university students grow up with a passion to enter certain industries. The student might spend years of their life gain insight into their favourite fields or even work on them as a part-time job, thus they can accumulate a significant amount of information and experience. Therefore, they understand what is the most beneficial education to horn their skill sets. For example, in Vietnam, most computer science students have chosen their own learning paths even before university and some of them even study on their own to finish their university education early. However, I believe that this takes a great amount of self-discipline and responsibility to make such decisions while many students are distracted by the pleasures and entertainments of university life. On the other hand, parents and teachers have a great advantage to support these youngsters. These older people tend to have more life experience and also deeply understand their students, thus it is sensible for the older generation to give guidance to students ' career paths. Therefore, students can be able to choose careers that are job-ready after their graduation, so they can support their families and start building their career paths. For instance, jobs in the computer field are in high demand, many graduates can receive good offers right after their studies. So, I believe this is the best way to ensure that every student can be confident in their learning process. In conclusion, while allowing students to decide their own studies can be beneficial to some learners, having experienced older people to guide them will help guarantee their success.