People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled ?

Nowadays, owing to many reasons, the majority of people choose to live in metropolises. making them overpopulated and more polluted than they were in the past. Although, urban life provides you with modern facilities and all conveniences, city-dwellers too have to face various issues in their daily activities. This essay will look at some of the problems faced by them and suggest a few solutions to overcome them. One of the main problems in cities is traffic congestion and poor air quality. In other,words the number of vehicles on roads is higher as many use their own vehicles to commute daily. Take Colombo, the capital city of Sri Lanka as an example. There is often gridlock in the city centre during peak hours, which has deteriorated the air around it. As a resut the number of people who are suffering from respiratory illnesses such as Asthma has increased dramatically. To tackle the problem, the government should bring in a congestion charge which eventually cut down the number of cars entering downtown hence reducing the risk of lung diseases. Another major issue is the high property prices. Many who live in towns have to work extra hours in order to make ends meet, especially in terms of accommodation. Many have to reside outside city -centres and have to commute to work on a daily basis. Therefore, it has become extremely difficult for them to have a better work-life balance.The solution is for the government to build more affordable housing schemes in by subsidizing more to urban development plans which in turn enhance their way of life. In conclusion, in spite of the increasing number of troubles associated, many still prefer to experience luxuries in urban cities. However, if governments and other authorities do not take the necessary actions to deal with difficulties encountered by people in metropolitan cities, the situation will definitely become worse in the future.